Felony Battery in Florida

Felony Battery in Florida

In Florida, pursuant to Florida Statute 784.041, a Felony Battery occurs when a person:

  1. Actually and intentionally strikes or touches another person against the will of another, and
  2. Causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement.

A felony battery causes greater injuries to a person than a misdemeanor battery, but less severe injuries than an aggravated battery.

Penalties to Felony Battery

Felony Battery is a 3rd degree felony punishable by any combination of the following:

  1. 5 years in prison
  2. 5 years of probation
  3. $5,000 fine

Defenses to Felony Battery

  1. Self-defense
  2. Defense of Others
  3. Mutual Combat: This occurs when two people agree to fight.
  4. Insufficient Injuries

Contact Us

If you have been arrested or charged with Felony Battery in Palm Beach County, Martin County, Broward County or Dade County contact a
Palm Beach criminal defense attorney from Bottari & Doyle, at (561)-588-2781 for a free consultation.