Aggravated Battery in Florida

Aggravated Battery in Florida

In Florida, pursuant to Florida Statute 784.045(1)(a), Aggravated Battery occurs when a person:

  • Intentionally or knowingly causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement to another person, or
  • Uses a deadly weapon during the battery, or
  • Commits a battery on person who he knew or should have known was pregnant.

Penalties for Aggravated Battery

Aggravated Battery is a second degree felony punishable by up to:

  • 15 years in prison
  • 15 years of probation
  • $10,000 fine.

Aggravated Battery is a Level 7 offense under Florida’s Criminal Punishment Code requiring the defendant to serve a minimum of 21 months in prison if convicted.

Defenses to Aggravated Battery

  • Self-Defense
  • Defense of Others
  • Consent/Mutual Combat
  • Lack of Intent
  • Insufficient injuries

Contact Us

If you have been arrested or charged with Aggravated Battery in Palm Beach County, Broward County, Dade County or Martin County contact a
Palm Beach criminal defense attorney from Bottari & Doyle at (561)-588-2781 for a free consultation.