No Motorcycle Endorsement
Florida law, pursuant to statute 322.03(4), requires all motorcycle riders to have a motorcycle endorsement on their driver’s license, or a motorcycle license. To get the endorsement or license, each rider must take the Basic Rider Course through the Florida Rider Training Program. Failure to obtain either is a second degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months of probation, 60 days in jail as a condition of probation, and a $500 fine.
Additionally, Florida Statutes 316.2085 and 318.14(13)(a) impose hefty fines for:
- Performing a motorcycle wheelie
- Not riding on the seat at all times
- Carrying another passenger on the motorcycle that is not designed for more than one person
- Not properly affixing the tag to the motorcycle
- Obscuring the tag
- Carrying a package, bundle or other article that prevents the driver from keeping both hands on the handlebars
- A person under 16 years of age who operates a motorcycle with more than 150 cubic centimeters of displacement, or who rents a motorcycle or a moped.
- Carrying person in a position that interferes with the operation or control of the motorcycle or moped or the view of the operator.
The fine is $1,000 for a first offense, $2,500 for a second offense with a one year suspension of motor vehicle driving privileges, and is a third degree felony for a third violation with a ten year suspension of motor vehicle privileges.
If you have been arrested or charged in Palm Beach County, Broward County or Martin County with not having a valid motorcycle endorsement, or were issued a civil citation under Florida Statutes 316.2085 or 318.14(13)(a), contact a
Palm Beach criminal defense attorney from Bottari & Doyle, at (561)-588-2781 for a free consultation.